The Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI) has announced that applications are open to all those eligible to join the GFSI Steering Committee. This round of applications and elections comes as part of the new Governance Rules published in 2021 in line with GFSI’s move to a Coalition of Action of The Consumer Goods Forum. The governance rules stipulate that a short window of application will be opened quarterly for nomination and election of eligible individuals to the GFSI Steering Committee.

The GFSI Steering Committee comprises senior food safety leaders from both retailer and manufacturer members of the CGF Coalition of Action on Food Safety. Each member is nominated directly by their company’s CEO and commits to supporting the three strategic priorities of GFSI: harmonizing and benchmarking food safety certification programs, building food safety capabilities, and fostering public-private partnerships. Current Steering Committee members include:

  • Barbara Masters, Tyson Foods
  • Cliona Murphy, PepsiCo
  • David Rasmussen, Kraft Heinz
  • Howard Popoola, The Kroger Co.
  • Hugo Byrnes, Ahold Delhaize
  • Kazuaki Miyagishima, Aeon
  • Mark Fryling, General Mills
  • Michael McDonald, Mars, Inc.
  • Monique Pellegrino, Danone
  • Natalie Dyenson, Dole Food Co.
  • Natalia Sommer, Magnit
  • Natasha Matyasova, Nestlé
  • Nelum Vithana, Cargills
  • Pierre de Ginestel, Auchan
  • Ray Bowe, Musgrave
  • Roy Kirby, Mondelēz International
  • Sara Mortimore, Walmart
  • Sean Leighton, Cargill
  • Tom Wiester, Starbucks
  • Tracy Burton, Unilever
  • Vaneska Mattos, Loblaw Co. Ltd.
  • Zoltan Syposs, The Coca-Cola Co.

Applications will be open through January 31, 2022. To learn more about the eligibility criteria and application process, please consult the GFSI Governance Rules (pages 13–14) and fill out the application form here. Applications should be sent to by midnight CET on January 31, 2022. If you require further information, please contact GFSI Director Erica Sheward.