Food Safety Magazine announced this week that Connie Kirby, M.Sc., will receive the magazine's Distinguished Service Award at the 2015 annual meeting of the International Association for Food Protection (IAFP), July 25–28 in Portland, OR. Kirby, former vice president of the Northwest Food Processors Association, will be presented with the award during the IAFP awards reception and banquet on Tuesday, July 28.

In her 25-year tenure with the Northwest Food Processors Association, she managed the growth of the nation’s largest regional trade association food safety and policy program, linking a grassroots network of industry, regulatory, and academia in the NW and beyond to address common food safety goals. Within the association, Kirby provided executive leadership and managed the operations and technical affairs issues for the 150 member food processors and 350 supplier member companies. Prior to NWFPA, she served in quality assurance positions of successive responsibility for Foster Farms and Armour Foods.

"The NWFPA and its members are unique in the industry nationwide for creating structure and group culture around food safety,” said former FDA Seattle District Director Charles Breen at a recent NWFPA committee meeting.

The Food Safety Magazine Distinguished Service Award honors individuals who best exemplify the characteristics of a dedicated food safety professional who has made a significant impact on food safety. The honored are recognized by members of the profession for their collective works in promoting and advancing science-based solutions for food safety issues.

Past recipients of the award include Larry Beuchat, Ph.D., Robert L. Buchanan, Ph.D., John N. Butts, Ph.D., Keith Ito, Allen Katsuyama, Huub Lelieveld, Barbara Masters, D.V.M., Ann Marie McNamara, Ph.D., William Sperber, Ph.D., Steve Taylor, Ph.D., David Theno, Ph.D., Bruce Tompkin, Ph.D., and Don L. Zink, Ph.D.