The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has announced the appointment of 13 new members and 17 returning members to the National Advisory Committee on Microbiological Criteria for Foods (NACMCF).

Criteria to be on the committee include members' expertise in in microbiology, risk assessment, epidemiology, public health, food science, and other relevant disciplines. The committee also welcomes one individual affiliated with a consumer group, to serve in a representational capacity. 

“As we invest in strengthening our food systems by supporting improved production and processing, NACMCF members offer expert advice on scientific and technical food safety issues,” said Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack. “These individuals will play a significant role in helping to ensure the safety of our nation’s food supply.”

The subcommittees of NACMCF carry out activities that are focused on specific areas being considered by the full committee. NACMCF has made important contributions to a broad range of critical food safety issues. The committee reports provide current information and scientific advice to federal food safety agencies and serve as a foundation for regulations and programs aimed at reducing foodborne disease and enhancing public health. Federal food safety agencies involved with NACMCF include USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service, U.S. Food and Drug Administration, the U.S. Centers for Disease Control, Department of Commerce National Marine Fisheries Service, and Department of Defense Veterinary Services.

The newly appointed NACMCF members to serve a two-year term are:

  • Dr. Teshome Yehualaeshet, Tuskegee University
  • Dr. Yaohua (Betty) Feng, Purdue University
  • Dr. Bing Wang, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • Dr. Randy W. Worobo, Cornell University
  • Dr. Mahipal Kunduru, Topco Associates LLC
  • Dr. Elisabetta Lambertini, Global Alliance for Improved Nutrition
  • Ms. Joelle Mosso, Eurofins
  • Dr. Max Teplitski, Produce Marketing Association
  • Dr. Joseph (Stan) Bailey, bioMérieux
  • Dr. Tanya Roberts, Center for Foodborne Illness Research and Prevention
  • Ms. Janell Kause, USDA, Food Safety and Inspection Service
  • Dr. Andreas Keller, HHS, Food and Drug Administration
  • Lt. Col. Audrey McMillan-Cole, DVM, DoD, Defense Logistics Agency

See the full list of NACMCF members.

NACMCF will hold a public meeting of the full Committee and Subcommittees from November 17 to November 19, 2021. The Committee will discuss the following two new charges: enhancingSalmonellacontrol in poultry products andCyclosporacayetanensisContamination. For more details about NACMCF charges or to register to attend this meeting, go to FSIS’ websitehere.