The International Association for Food Protection (IAFP) will present awards recognizing excellence in food safety to the following organizations and individuals at the 2017 IAFP Annual Meeting.

The IAFP Fellow Award is awarded to professionals who have contributed to IAFP and its affiliates with distinction over an extended period of time. This year, five recipients will receive this honor:  Judy D. Greig, Public Health Agency of Canada, Guelph, Ontario

  • Dale Grinstead, Sealed Air Core Research & Development, Racine, WI
  • Vijay K. Juneja, U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Agricultural Research Center, Wyndmoor, PA
  • Jeffrey L. Kornacki, Kornacki Microbiology Solutions, Inc., Madison, WI
  • Donald W. Schaffner, Rutgers University – The State University of New Jersey, New Brunswick, NJ

Christine M. Bruhn, University of California – Davis (retired), Davis, California will be awarded the President’s Lifetime Achievement Award. This award, given at the discretion of the IAFP President, recognizes an individual who has made a lasting impact on Advancing Food Safety Worldwide® through a lifetime of professional achievements in food protection.

The Honorary Life Membership Award recognizes IAFP Members for their dedication to the high ideals and objectives of IAFP and for their service to the Association. This year, this award will be presented to:

  • David Blomquist, Ecolab (retired), Hastings, MN
  • Maria Teresa Destro, bioMérieux, São Paulo, Brazil
  • Marilyn Lee, Ryerson University (retired), Toronto, Canada
  • John Sofos, Colorado State University (University Distinguished Professor Emeritus), Ft. Collins, CO
  • Katherine M.J. Swanson, Consultant, Mendota Heights, MN

The Harry Haverland Citation Award will be awarded to J. Santos Garcia A., Universidad Autonoma de Neuvo Leon, Mexico, for his years of devotion to the ideals and objectives of the Association.

Novolyze, Orliénas, France, will receive the Food Safety Innovation Award, given for its SurroNov products.

The International Leadership Award will be presented to George-John Nychas, Agricultural University, Athens, Greece, for his dedication to the high ideals and objectives of IAFP and for promotion of the mission of the Association in countries outside of the United States and Canada.

The Center for Food Safety Engineering and the Department of Food Science, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN, will receive the GMA Food Safety Award in recognition of a long history of outstanding contributions to food safety research and education.

The Frozen Food Foundation Freezing Research Award will be presented to Mark Harrison, University of Georgia, `Athens. This award honors an individual, group, or organization for preeminence and outstanding contributions in research that impacts food safety attributes of freezing.

The Maurice Weber Laboratorian Award will be presented to Arun K. Bhunia, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN, to recognize his service for outstanding contributions in the laboratory and recognizing a commitment to the development of innovative and practical analytical approaches in support of food safety.

Xiaonan Lu, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, will be presented the Larry Beuchat Young Researcher Award. This award is presented to a young researcher who has shown outstanding ability and professional promise in the early years of his or her career.

Frank Bryan, Food Safety Consultation and Training (retired), Lithonia, GA, is the recipient of the Ewen C.D. Todd Control of Foodborne Illness Award. New this year, this award recognizes an individual for dedicated and exceptional contributions to the reduction of risks of foodborne illness.

Candace A. Jacobs, Washington Department of Agriculture, Olympia, WA, will receive the Sanitarian Award to recognize her dedication and exceptional service to the profession of sanitarian, serving the public and the food industry.

The Elmer Marth Educator Award will be presented to Judy Harrison, University of Georgia, Athens, to recognize her dedication and exceptional contributions to the profession of the educator.

Michael Roberson, Publix Super Markets, Inc., Lakeland, Florida, is the recipient of the Harold Barnum Industry Award. This award recognizes his outstanding service to IAFP, the public and the food industry.

The 2017 IAFP Annual Meeting will be held July 9-12 in Tampa, FL.