Since 2004, the NSF International Food Safety Leadership Awards have been given each year to food safety professionals and organizations that have demonstrated a strong focus on improving food safety. These awards are meant to “encourage innovation in educational programs, processes and technologies to advance food safety.”

At last week’s Food Safety Summit held at the Baltimore Convention Center, four deserving recipients were recognized during the 12th Annual Food Safety Leadership Awards.

2015 NSF International Food Safety Innovation Award Winners:

  • Robert O’Connor, senior vice president of technical services, Foster Farms
  • Frank Ferko, director of distribution, US Foods

2015 Training and Education Award Winners:

  • Robert Whitaker, Ph.D, Produce Marketing Association
  • Peter Fulgenzi, executive chef, Indiana University’s Health North Hospital

Award winners are chosen by an independent panel of food safety experts from academia, industry and the regulatory community. They review nominations from around the world before narrowing down the most deserving candidates. Nominations are evaluated based on innovation, processes and technologies used to advance food safety.