The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has recognized Jamaica National Agency for Accreditation (JANAAC) as an accreditation body under the Accredited Third-Party Certification Program—part of the Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA)—for a period of five years. FDA has recognized JANAAC because it meets the applicable FDA requirements, which have been validated through an application review and onsite assessment. 

Accreditation bodies recognized by FDA have the authority to accredit third-party certification bodies. These certification bodies, once accredited, can conduct food safety audits and issue certifications of foreign food facilities (including farms) and the foods—both human and animal—that they produce. The certifications are required for importers to establish eligibility for participation in the Voluntary Qualified Importer Program. In addition, the certifications may be used in certain circumstances where FDA requires that imported products be certified before entering the U.S.

JANAAC is being recognized as having the authority to accredit certification bodies with the ability to conduct food safety audits under the following scopes of accreditation:

  • Acidified Foods
  • Dietary Supplements 
  • Juice Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points (HACCP)
  • Low-Acid Canned Foods
  • Medicated Feed Current Good Manufacturing Practices (GMPs)
  • Preventive Controls for Animal Food
  • Preventive Controls for Human Food
  • Produce Safety 
  • Seafood HACCP
  • Shell Eggs.

Visit FDA’s Key Facts document for more information on Accredited Third-Party Certification Program.