Food Safety Summit May 6-9, 2025
Facebook Icon Twitter Icon YouTube Icon LinkedIn Icon

Food Safety Summit Press Releases

Food Safety Summit Educational Advisory Board Members Announced; Planning Begins for 2017 Event

Rosemont, IL, July 20, 2016 – Food safety professionals from leading companies including The Cheesecake Factory, Costco, US Foods, Wegman’s, McDonald’s and academic and government agencies have joined The Food Safety Summit Educational Advisory Board (EAB) who will set the direction for the content of the education program for the 2017 event. The EAB will select and identify the high profile keynotes, hands on workshops, specialized training/education and detailed informational sessions. The EAB is comprised of industry leaders representing the entire food industry including, processors, manufacturers, retailers, distributors, foodservice operators, regulators and academia.

Educational Advisory Board (EAB) Logo“Following an extremely successful 2016 Food Safety Summit, we are very excited to work with this talented and highly respected Educational Advisory Board to produce another stellar program for 2017,” says Scott Wolters, Director of The Food Safety Summit. “Our goal is to offer a solutions oriented program where real issues can be discussed and solutions discovered and with a good mix of returning EAB members as well as new members, we will be able to accomplish this goal.”

The New EAB members include:

  • Sharon Beals - Vice President, FSQA Supplier, US Foods
  • Sharon Birkett - Vice President North American Quality and Food Protection, OSI Group, LLC
  • Ben Chapman, PhD - Associate Professor, North Carolina State
  • Will Daniels – Senior Vice President of Operations & Supply Chain, WTRMLNWTR™
  • Tammi Frederick - Director, Retail Food Safety, H-E-B
  • Craig Henry, PhD - Vice President, Global Business Development, Decernis
  • Glenda Lewis - Director, Retail Food Protection Staff, FDA
  • Shawn Stevens - National Food Industry Lawyer, Food Industry Council
  • Craig Wilson - Vice President, GMM, Costco

Returning EAB members include:

  • Gary Ades, PhD - President, G&L Consulting Group
  • Al Baroudi, PhD - Vice President, Quality Assurance & Food Safety, The Cheesecake Factory
  • Robert Brackett, PhD - Vice President and Director Institute for Food Safety and Health, Illinois Institute of Technology
  • Joe Corby - Executive Director, Association of Food & Drug Officials
  • Faye Feldstein - DC Senior Advisor, FED TS&A FHS, Deloitte Consulting LLP
  • Jorge Hernandez – Chief Food Safety Officer, Wholesome International
  • Gillian Kelleher - Vice President of Food Safety and Quality Assurance, Wegmans
  • Hal King, PhD - Founder/CEO, Public Health Innovations
  • Arthur P. Liang, MD, MPH - Senior Advisor for Food Safety, CDC
  • Joan Menke-Schaenzer - Vice President, Safety & Compliance, Global Supply Chain & Sustainability, McDonald's
  • Donna Schaffner, MS - Associate Director, Food Safety, Quality Assurance & Training, Rutgers University
  • John Spink, PhD - Associate Director & Assistant Professor, Michigan State University
  • Patricia Wester - President, PA Wester Consulting

The Food Safety Summit invites industry leaders to submit a speaker application to participate on a panel for the 2017 program. All speaker bios will be reviewed by the 2017 Executive Advisory Board (EAB) who is responsible for selecting and organizing the educational program. The deadline is September 16, 2016 for consideration by the EAB.  Vendors of food safety-related products or services who are exhibiting at the Food Safety Summit, are welcome to speak in the Solution Stage Theater. Contact Chuck Wilson at for more information.

Speaker proposals are now being accepted. To submit a speaker visit,

About the Food Safety Summit:
The Food Safety Summit is the leading forum on food safety with an in-depth conference program offering solutions for today and planning for tomorrow, featuring the world’s leading authorities examining the most up-to-date innovations in the food industry. The Food Safety Summit is designed to meet the educational and informational needs of the entire food industry and will be held Tuesday, May 9 through Thursday, May 11, 2016 with certification courses starting on Monday, May 8 at the Donald E. Stephens Convention Center in Rosemont, IL. Registration will be live in September 2016 and all updates on the conference are available at For more information, call 847.405.4124.

For further information, Contact: 
Amy Riemer,
Media Relations Contact 
978-475-4441 (office) or 978-502-4895 (cell)

Subscribe Button